Your License To Fish
Fishing is just one of the many forms of relaxation people do these days with either friends or family. It is a time for bonding and a great escape from the pressures of daily life.
To be able to fish, a person needs to get a fishing license since this is a requirement by law and the regulations regarding fishing varies from one state to the other.
In some states, 2 licenses are needed. One is called the Conservation license which is a prerequisite before one can obtain a fishing license.
When fishing Lake Texoma, as of the writing of this article, two licenses are indeed required. An Oklahoma Fishing License and a Lake Texoma Fishing License as well.
For information on getting a fishing license visit: Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation
Getting a license to fish is quite different from the time a person needed to get a drivers license. The person does not have to take an exam or get a student’s permit before being issued one.
The Conservation license can be obtained from the Fish, Wildlife & Parks or FWP. This is done by giving one’s social security number and other information that is requested. A valid driver’s license or any valid ID with photo must also be presented for security purposes for the license to be processed.
The fishing license allows a person to fish or possess any aquatic creature as long as it is authorized by the state’s fishing regulations. This license is neither non-transferable nor non-refundable and is only valid for one year or season.
Since fishing licenses as mentioned earlier vary from state to state, a fishing license can either be a resident license or a non-resident license. For one to qualify for a resident license, that person must have resided in that certain location for a period of time such as 6 months, should be a local tax payer, must be a registered voter, purchased a vehicle and have a valid driver’s issued from that state. In addition, one must not possess or apply for any resident hunting, fishing or trapping privileges in another state or country.
A non-resident can fish in another state as long as the person is accompanied by someone who resides in that state.
There is no age limit for anyone to acquire a fishing license. People both young and old can obtain it. Usually, a person who is below 11 years of age can get a fishing license for free. People who are older than that have to pay a certain fee to acquire it.
With the paper work in proper order, one can just grab the proper gear, a boat and start having some fun being close to nature.
Ready to fish Lake Texoma striper? Click Here For Pricing and Information